Fri. 16 June 2023 – 20:00
Heleen Hulst

Van Swieten Society #3

Beethoven's Beethoven

PLEASE TAKE NOTE: This concert will take place in de Uilenburgersjoel - Nieuwe Uilenburgerstraat 91

The Van Swieten Society is a collective of instrumentalists with a passion for music from the classical and early romantic period. They are named after the Baron Van Swieten (born in 1733), a passionate and highly active music lover – and friend of composers such as Mozart, Haydn and Beethoven – who was one of the first to programme and promote 'early music'. But the collective doesn't limit itself to the famous masterpieces of this period: like detectives, they dig further into the less well-known works of unrightfully forgotten geniuses.

”The Van Swieten Society fits right in with heroes such as Sherlock Holmes, Inspector Morse and Scott & Bailey. They find themselves in places everyone thought they knew, and dig up details that had escaped everyone's attention. The Van Swieten Society is the most successful Cold Case Team of the classical music.” - Reinen Dercksen

The detective-work also expresses itself in the historical instruments that are played, and the deepening into the interpretation and expression of the time in which the pieces were written. The programmes are explained elaborately during the concerts, so there is also a lot to learn!

Beethoven's Beethoven
The Vienese audience couldn’t get enough from Beethoven. Therefor he often made arrangements in order to have his music been played by as many as possible different musicians. Nowadays we have high reverence to the original but this practical way of dealing with a score was for Beethoven and his contemporaries common practice. Also Bach, Händel, Mozart, Haydn, Schubert, Liszt and numerous less famous composers arranged more versions of their own works. This proves the value of the arrangements: it’s music for the music. And how more authentic can one enjoy music?

Ludwig van Beethoven - Pianotrio in Bes opus 11 Original Clarinettrio / Arrangement for Pianotrio with violin by Beethoven
Ludwig van Beethoven - Pianoquartet in Es opus 16 Original Pianoquintet with winds / Arrangement for pianoquartet by Beethoven
Ludwig van Beethoven - 'Kreutzer' Sonate in A opus 47 Original Violinsonate / Arrangement for Stringquintet by Beethoven

Heleen Hulst & Alida Schat - violin
Elisabeth Smalt - viola
Diederik van Dijk & Albert Brüggen - cello
Bart van Oort - fortepiano



PLEASE TAKE NOTE: This concert will take place in de Uilenburgersjoel - Nieuwe Uilenburgerstraat 91

Become a member too:

Over 100 concerts a year for € 9.99 a month.

And are you under 30? Then you only pay € 4.99.

Support Splendor!